IT'S NEVER TOO LATE!

April 27, 2010

It’s Never Too Late!

Filed under: Uncategorized — ccassello @ 3:50 pm
I broke my motto yesterday.  In the morning, I thought I would watch a DVD I had from the library.  I had already renewed it once,  It was due again and I still had not watched it.  After I did my blog though, I began to try to do a Dummy Sheet for the story I was submitting to my ICL instructor.  For those of you who do not know what a Dummy Sheet is, it is a sheet showing the pages that will be in a book and where the text and art will be on each page.  I could not find a shape on the built in program that fit what I needed to do and had trouble locating the way to draw it by hand.  Then, I could not get them the size I needed them.  I tried to trace the boxes from the sample sheet in our workbook.  That did not go well either.  

Then, I realized that even if I got that done, I would have to go back through the draft, find each section and figure how much space they would take on a page.  I knew I had broken the text up into sections for that purpose, but they were not numbered and I would have difficulty making sure I had each section and each page accounted for.  This was going to be a lot more work than it sounded like.  I decided not to do it.  The course manual said it was not necessary for a beginner.  So, I just put the two copies of the draft (one for them to keep in a file and one for the instructor to critique and send back to me so I can revise it) in an envelope ready to take to the post office to get proper postage and mail.
By the time I had finished this it was near 3 PM.  I decided that it was too late to go out and I renewed the DVD over the computer.  I have the draft with things to take with me when I go downtown today and will go to the post office and get it off before I go to the poetry group I meet with today.  I will be sharing with  them the poem I wrote yesterday, as I said and asking for title suggestions.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.